#101: Uruguay

Happy Memorial Day Weekend!

I hope your long weekend found you happy and healthy and spending time with your family and friends. We are super blessed to be able to live in a free nation, and it’s so important that we remember those who made the ultimate sacrifice so that we can sit around and have a long, wonderful weekend in the sun. I for one soaked up all the weekend. BBQs, family time, friend time, breweries, planting and my very first Bolder Boulder to cap it all off. So many fantastic memories ❤ and to cap it all off, I’m heading to Charleston to reboot my battery. Lose your mind, find your soul.

THE DINNER: We picked Uruguay for #101… or rather my co-worker, ND picked this one. I love when people really get into this project with us. It’s really fun when we get approached by friends and family that are following the blog and they chat with us, tell us they’re cooking along or offer their thoughts on that week’s meal. Uruguay cuisine was not as exciting as other countries. They are very simplistic, and in the thread of having a vegetarian option for all the meat-centric BBQ fest that was the weekend, we selected this baked cheese appetizer to try out for this country.

Evidentially these people love their cheese. You had my dad’s full attention at “cheese” and my mom and I’s full attention at “spicy”. This one is referred to as “Minuta” which is a “fast food” and is seriously a culinary staple for the country. It’s really easy— but really yummy. It’s commonly served on the BBQ but they even have these Aebleskiver sort of plates (think back to when we did Iceland week #8 https://brovskyadventures.wordpress.com/2014/06/30/8-iceland/) that have individual wells for the cheese to melt in. How fabulous for that chef that has everything 😉

Uruguayan Spicy Baked Cheese Recipe: http://www.splendidtable.org/recipes/uruguayan-spicy-baked-cheese?elq=857e5fcc9b8644a28b310efb4064ffbd&elqCampaignId=5708

1234511678910121314

OVERALL COUNTRY SCORE:

Ease of prep and cooking: HALF A STAR out of five this meal!
If I could give it zero stars I totally would. You literally put this in a pan. Put that pan in the oven. Bake it till it melts. Throw it on some toasted bread or, hell, eat it straight! This one was a piece of cheese-cake!

Best dish of all time scale: FIVE STARS out of five for Meal!!
Okay. Okay. Okay. I’m gonna level with you foodies here… I was very resistant to this five star rating for one reason— it wasn’t exciting!! This one didn’t scream “exotic” “international” or “complex” and by that standard I declined to give it props. It just seemed too ordinary and too simple… and then I got my snooty nose down from the culinary clouds and realized it’s basically international queso! It’s delicious! It’s exactly what food should be though, simple and accessible. I’m not going to lie here, this one was amazing. I hate myself a little for saying it because we really didn’t DO ANYTHING, but holy wow, I think we will call dream of this cheese. It would be delicious on a shingle, but we ate it on bread. Upon reflection, this would have rocked on veggies too! I’m also thinking that a little more red pepper would have been excellent. I’m sure that’s no surprise, but just sayin…

The leaders of the Brovsky Clan are flying into #102 next weekend for Liberia while I’m in Charleston and Jess is in Oklahoma. From my recipe pull, it looks like it should be pretty interesting! Stay tuned!

Ciao!
– L & K

Leave a Reply

